Hot Cocoa Cookies

The holiday season includes all kinds of fun activities, but for me, one of the biggest parts of my holiday is baking. Every year I make somewhere between 4-5 kinds of holiday cookies/desserts. Between friends, family, coworkers, and the people who have strong preferences for a specific one of my cookies, there’s always a lot of dough to be made and cookies to be baked! Luckily, I love doing it so each year I try to make a combo of the classics and some new fun flavors. Check out my previous post about one of my most cherished favorites, my Grandmom’s butter cookies.

My signature holiday cookie, which I make each year without fail, is hot cocoa. Who doesn’t love a cookie that reminds them of a cup of a delicious chocolatey winter drink best enjoyed with loved ones around the tree or by the fireplace?

My favorite thing about these cookies is that they’re not too dense or overly chocolatey, so your friends and family who aren’t your typical triple chocolate lovers will still enjoy these. They’re also loaded with mini marshmallows and chocolate chips for the BEST texture and flavor. 

Below is the recipe for my favorite hot cocoa cookies- enjoy!

Hot Cocoa Cookies

  • Servings: About 50 Cookies
  • Difficulty: Easy
  • Print

Ingredients

  • 1 1/4 cups unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 2/3 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3 1/4 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 4 milk chocolate hot cocoa packets
  • 1 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 1 cup jet-puffed mallow bits

Directions

  1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and line baking sheets with parchment paper. Set aside.
  2. Using a stand mixer, cream together butter and sugars for 2 minutes.
  3. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until combined.
  4. In another large bowl, mix together the flour, hot cocoa packets, baking soda, and baking powder. Add a little bit at a time to the butter mixture and beat until well combined.
  5. Stir in mini chocolate chips and mallow bits.
  6. Drop dough onto baking sheets and bake one at a time for 9-11 minutes.
  7. Let the cookies cool on the sheet for 4-5 minutes then transfer to cooling racks to finish cooling.

2 thoughts on “Hot Cocoa Cookies

Leave a comment